Walter Tiemann Prize 2018

The next competition will start in summer 2017. Submissions will be due in early January 2018. The call for entries with the exact entry rules can be found here from August 2017.

Support book art!

Do you want to support contemporary book art? Become a member of the Society – or support the Walter Tiemann Prize by making a donation.

Walter Tiemann Prize 2016

The Walter Tiemann Prize 2016 is awarded to Constanze Hein and Jan Blessing (Berlin) for the design of the artist’s book Anahita Razmi – Tutti – A Score for 19 Vloggers, published in 2015 by Edition Taube.

A second prize goes to Boy Vereecken, from Belgium, for the journal VVV 1, Very Vary Veri, published by Harvard University in 2014.

Another second prize is awarded to Pascal Storz and Fabian Bremer for their book Jonas Mekas: Scrapbook of the Sixties, published in 2015 by Spector Books.

The jury, this time composed of Nina Hug CH/DE, Christoph Ruckhäberle DE, Felix Salut DE/NL, Maren von Stockhausen DE, and Cornel Windlin CH/DE, selected the winners from entries from 12 countries.

Anahita Razmi – Tutti – A Score for 19 Vloggers Constanze Hein, Jan Blessing DE Main award 2016
VVV 1, Very Vary Veri Boy Vereecken BE Second Prize 2016

Jonas Mekas: Scrapbook of the Sixties Pascal Storz, Fabian Bremer DE Second Prize 2016

Shut Up I’m Counting! Felix Salut DE Main award 2014

#+02.00 Philip Baber NL UK Main award 2012

Joseph Churchward David Bennewith NL NZ Main award 2010

Von Luftlinien, Flammenbögen und Speedloops Florian Hardwig D Main award 2008

Poppigt sakligt politiskt 1960-talets konsthantverk och design på Nationalmuseum Matilda Plöjel SE Main award 2006

The award winners of past years